Altair SmartWorks Analytics

 

Sharing Objects

You can collaborate with other users by share workflows and files for collaborative purposes with specific file and access permissions in the SmartWorks Analytics Library for performing various operations such as viewing, editing, copying, moving, removing, re-sharing, and so on.

Prerequisite

  • User with the appropriate role and permissions for creating, editing, sharing, re-sharing, moving, and copying workflows and files.

Steps

  1. From the SmartWorks Analytics Library, select a folder to view the files and workflows that you want to share.

  2.  

  3. Select a file or a workflow and then click the Share option in the Shared column or from the menu. Alternatively, you can also click the and then select Share file.

  4. The Share dialog box is displayed.

     

  5. In the Share dialog box, specify the following details:

    Property

    Description

    With

    Specify or search for the email, first name, last name, or login name of the user that you want to share the selected file or workflow with. (if the first and last name is empty (Keycloak) the login name is displayed in the list).
    During the search, the list of users that have access to the workflow or file is displayed.

    Optionally, click the delete icon next to the user name to delete the user from shared access to the workflow or file.

    Can edit permission

    Can view permission

    Select the type of permission from the list (Can edit, Can view)

    • Can edit allows the specified user or users to edit, remove, move, or copy the workflow or file.

    • Can view allows the specified users to only view the workflow or file.

    Can re-share

    Select the check box to allow the specified user or users to re-share the workflow or file with other users.

    Add

    Select a user from the list and then click Add to add multiple users. The user is added to the top of the list of specified users.

  6.  

  7. Click Share to share the file or workflow.

  8. Alternatively, click Cancel to discard the changes that you have made.

Controlling Access and Permissions for Workflows

This section summarizes the various access levels and permissions for sharing and re-sharing workflows.

  • Read-only mode for workflows

  • Allows you to:

    • Only view the workflow

    Does not allow you to:

    • Open nodes

    • Move nodes

    • Access the node actions panel (node menu, delete, and run)

    • View the Palette

  • Viewing permissions for workflows

  • Allows you to:

    • Open workflows

    • Copy to workflow (can be edited)

    • View the users with whom the workflow is shared (can only view the Share dialog)

    Does not allow you to:

    • Execute the workflow

  • Viewing and re-sharing permissions for workflows

  • Allows you to:

    • Open the workflow

    • Copy to workflow (can be edited)

    • Re-share the workflow by clicking the Share option in the Share column and allows you to add only view permissions and re-share and does not allow you to execute the workflow

  • Edit permissions for workflows

  • Allows you to:

    • Open the workflow

    • Copy to workflow (can be edited)

    • View users with whom the workflow is shared using the Share dialog with no edit permissions

    Does not allow you to:

    • Re-share the workflow

  • Editing and re-sharing permissions for workflows

  • Allows you to:

    • Open the workflow

    • Copy to workflow (can be edited) and set edit and share permissions for the copied workflow

    • View users with whom the workflow is shared using the Share dialog

    • Re-share the workflow

  • Copying permissions for workflows

  • Allows you to:

    • Open the workflow

    • Copy to workflow (can be edited) and set edit and share permissions for the copied workflow

    • View users with whom the workflow is shared using the Share dialog

    • Re-share the workflow

  • Copying permissions for workflows into folders

  • Allows you to:

    • Open the workflow and view objects for which view or edit permissions are available

    • View all folders irrespective of the permissions provided for the objects in the folders

    • Add a workflow or file with the same name of the workflow or file for which view permissions are granted

    Does not allow you to:

    • Share the folder

  • Permissions for files

  • Allows you to:

    • View and use the file inside the workflow

    • Rename and remove the file

    • Re-share the file