Muti-User Mode Operations

To do anything with a job created by a different user of the group, you will need to take ownership of the job first.

  1. To take ownership using the GUI:
    1. Double click on the job in vovconsole to open it in Node Editor.
    2. Switch to the Execution & Impact tab.
    3. Check the Take Ownership checkbox and save.
      You will now become the new owner of the job. As the owner, you may modify the job (change command, resources, etc), and run or invalidate the job.
      Note: you can only take ownership of jobs that are not currently running. Also, if the job has been locked by the owner (described below), you will not be able to take ownership.
  2. To take ownership using the VTK API:
    1. Use the command:
      % vtkrtransition_chown_to_me <jobId>

The owner of a job has the ability to lock the job so no other LEADER will be able to take ownership of the job.

  1. To lock ownership via the GUI:
    1. Double click on the job in vovconsole to open it in Node Editor.
    2. Switch to the Execution & Impact tab.
    3. Uncheck the Allow LEADERs ownership box and save.
  2. To lock ownership using the VTK API:
    1. Use the command:
      % vtk_acl_op <jobId> DELETE LEADER CHOWN
  3. To lock ownership using the command line:
    1. Use the command:
      % vovacl -delete -agent LEADER -actions CHOWN <jobId>
    2. To lock all the jobs in a set, use the vovacl command:
      % vovacl -delete -agent LEADER -actions CHOWN <setID | setName>