Altair SmartWorks Analytics

 

Editing Columns

The Edit operation is found within the Column Changes node and allows you to duplicate, delete, rename, and reorder the columns in a table. This operation is applicable to all field types.

Prerequisites

  • An Execution Profile with an active session linked to the workflow

  • A Column Change node connected to a Data Frame node

  •  

Steps

  1. Configure the Column Changes node by double-clicking on the node or using the Open option provided in the node menu.

  2. The table displays in the Node Viewer.

  3. In the Configuration tab, select the column you wish to edit and then click on the Edit tab in the Column Changes menu

  4.  

Duplicating a Column

Steps

  1. To duplicate a column, click on the header of this column and then select Duplicate in the Edit menu.

  2. Specify a name for the duplicate column in the field provided.

  3.  

  4. Select Apply when you are done.

  5. You can abandon the duplicate operation by clicking the Cancel button instead.

    The duplicate column is added to your table, as shown below.

     

  6. To check the code that will be executed for your specified Column Changes configuration, save your specifications and then click on the Code tab of the Column Changes Node Viewer. You can also use the tab that displays to refine the code further.

  7.  

  8. To complete the Column Changes node configuration, press Save. To cancel your changes and return to the Workflow Canvas, press Discard or simply close the Column Changes Node Viewer. To execute your column changes, click the Run button.

Deleting a Column

Steps

  1. To delete a specific column, click on the header of this column and then select Delete in the Edit menu.

  2. The selected column is deleted, as shown below.

     

  3. To check the code that will be executed for your specified Column Changes configuration, save your specifications and then click on the Code tab of the Column Changes Node Viewer. You can also use the tab that displays to refine the code further.

  4.  

  5. To complete the Column Changes node configuration, press Save. To cancel your changes and return to the Workflow Canvas, press Discard or simply close the Column Changes Node Viewer. To execute your column changes, click the Run button.

Renaming a Column

Steps

  1. To rename a specific column, click on the header of this column and then select Rename in the Edit menu.

  2. Specify a new column name in the field provided.

  3.  

  4. Select Apply when you are done.

  5. You can abandon the edit operation by clicking the Cancel button instead.

    The renamed column displays in your table, as in the example below.

     

  6. To check the code that will be executed for your specified Column Changes configuration, save your specifications and then click on the Code tab of the Column Changes Node Viewer. You can also use the tab that displays to refine the code further.

  7.  

  8. To complete the Column Changes node configuration, press Save. To cancel your changes and return to the Workflow Canvas, press Discard or simply close the Column Changes Node Viewer. To execute your column changes, click the Run button.

Reordering a Column

Steps

  1. To reorder the columns in the table, select Reorder in the Edit menu and then click on the Reorder Table Columns link that displays.

  2.  

  3. In the dropdown list that displays, use your mouse to drag and drop columns to their new order.

  4.  

  5. Repeat Step 2 until all of the columns are reordered as you wish.

  6. Select Apply when you are done.

  7. You can abandon the edit operation by clicking the Cancel button instead.

    The reordered columns display in your table, as in the example below.

     

  8. To check the code that will be executed for your specified Column Changes configuration, save your specifications and then click on the Code tab of the Column Changes Node Viewer. You can also use the tab that displays to refine the code further.

  9.  

  10. To complete the Column Changes node configuration, press Save. To cancel your changes and return to the Workflow Canvas, press Discard or simply close the Column Changes Node Viewer. To execute your column changes, click the Run button.